Hsing Yi 2 man form.

January 1, 2010

Those of you who been with me for while would be aware about my thoughts of how Hsing Yi might have played a role in the shaping of some Fuzhou Cranes….

And no, this is not my exclusive idea, not by a long stretch…..

For the longest time, all the Fuzhou sifus and elders my mentors, were probing this by more than evaluating techniques and concepts but also, sieving through old texts brought along by Fuzhou pioneers in Singapore/Malaysia some 100 – 200 years ago.

There is a reason why most Fuzhou Cranes are also frequently known as “Pwan Gain Noon” translated approximately into “midway between hard and soft” – it’s the particular trait that identify Fuzhou Cranes.

Too hard or too soft is to diverge from the traditions and Crane students spend the first few years of their training attaining this state in every technique that they execute.

So you can imagine how hard it was for me when I first started; with my Soalim “chuck luk” or “joint power” training and trying to switch over to a system that advocate something that is so unlike.

I remember asking my teacher why Hsing Yi, besides the apparent 5 elements concept that we seem to share; in fact, the original Fuzhou text looks like a replica….

And just like the other source of influence, Shaolin Lohan, many lines of Fuzhou Cranes still maintain Lohan forms and in my lineage’s case, Hsing Yi like 2 man routines.

So you can understand my interest in Hsing Yi and here from 56 is an excellently performed Hsing Yi 2 man form.

I love it, I tell you.

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

