Taizu clip – better view.

January 22, 2008

Took a while but finally got the Taizu clip fixed. Now you’ll see more and hear the narration.

 

Tai Chor.

January 22, 2008

So it appears that some of you really love the clips from National Geo…

Therefore, I am posting one more snippet before moving on. 

And oh yes, btw, the title of the documentary is “The Art of Warriors”…..

What we got now is Nan TaiZu or Southern Grand Ancestor. 

Rightly narrated, this is one style that places very high priority on “breathing” or “chi”.

A major part of training is devoted to the many ways of breathing for therapeutic and martial applications.

Nowhere is the saying “Using chi to persuade power” more perceptible than Southern Tai Chor (name pronounced in Fukien) imho…

Along with Fukien White Crane, this style played a considerable role in the formulation and shaping of many other southern styles to follow.

I know this is controversial but if all the books I’ve read and this documentary is right, Nan TaiZu has, plausibly, the oldest recorded history amidst all the southern styles except maybe for Southern Shaolin.

Going all the way back to the Song Dynasty’s Chao Kuang Ying or otherwise known as the “Grand Ancestor” of Song, notice how the sifu in the clip starts the form without the 5 parts salute, believed by many to be added only after the sacking of Southern Shaolin.

Now let me see, what other styles I know salute this way?

Yang Jia Quan, Northern Luohan, Shaolin “Stone” Boxing,…. my point?

Mainly Northern styles.

I think Southern TaiZu has one of the most lacking of all historical documentations; I’ve heard so much from my TaiZu teacher, Teo Choon Teck and Penang’s TaiZu GM Ong Choon Seng…..most of the details having been transmitted only orally from one generation to the next.

Even the migratory path of TaiZu from mainland to SE Asia is filled with many colorful anecdotes. And the path is also quite off the beaten track, so to speak; from mainland, Thailand, Malaysia and then Singapore….

But when these far-flung families do meet up, like in Penang recently, they will address each other with “I arrived here on a red boat……”

“Red boat”???

 I thought only Hung Gar and Wing Chun folks like that color and mode of transportation?

Hahahaha ….  Actually the beginning of a poem that had close links to “Hung” or “Ang” or “Red” doors…..

If you catch my drift ….I am sailing, I am sailing….home again…faraway…..

Hmmmm, where is my Rod Steward CDs??? 

Apologies for the soundless clip – having problems converting this portion of the DVD. I will try again, using a different converting software and see how it goes and repost if ready.