They might look the same, sound the same but the same it ain’t….

June 14, 2010

Right, it is starting to look like this is the best I could do – update this blog once or twice a week.

With 2 books scheduled to be launched this year and both entailing extensive research and interviewing folks from all over Sarawak, proper time management is critical – aaarrgghh, “deadline” was just a word before but now …… I understand the “dead” in “deadline”…. Geeeze, this is cramping my style tsk tsk tsk….

Ahem, anyway ….. In the middle of all these excitement, Penang called and now I got to review my schedule.

Firstly, Peter (my Zhou Jia sihing) called about a week ago to tell me that one of our Zhou Jia schools is celebrating their 15 years’ anniversary with a dinner cum performance. My sibakgong will be the guest-of-honor and he wants me to be there for this event.

Then Por Suk rang and spoke to me about recording his entire Cho Gar Ban Chung Wing Chun syllabus onto DVDs. Now this is a breakthrough … so far I’ve only managed to record his Wing Chun partially. The whole thing …. Wow …… what can I say?

And just last evening, our other contact there want to know if we are able to be in Penang on the 25th of this month to meet the Minister of Tourism to discuss some of our proposals submitted. The Minister don’t do impromptu meeting, everything got to be penciled into her appointment diary….

Now if only all these are in the same time window but unfortunately there are not. So its either I shuttle back and forth or stay in Penang for 10 days to cover them all … decision, decision, decision……

Well, that is “work” …. And you know what they say …. “Deal with it!”

Now back to kung fu – something that I spoke about awhile back; how many folks misconstrue “Ancestral” for “Vibrating” Crane because in the Fuzhou dialect, both these are pronounced as “Zhong”….

I have yet to see any “Ancestral” Crane clip on-line except for the one I put up about 3 years ago.

There are, however, quite a number of “Vibrating” Crane clip posted on many mainland sites; typically performances by either Taiwan or Putien schools.

After watching these, I noticed something that both “Ancestral” and “Vibrating” Cranes seem to have in common; many “reeling cloth” and “washing hands” techniques.

Could be because producing colored cloth was, at that time, a big local industry; so there you go, something that very few historian talks about. Most records would explain histories, events and personalities and all that but how many probe into the development of the arts vis-à-vis daily lifestyles and practices?

Just like many Hakka styles around here are referred to as “tofu hands” and Fukien styles are known as “farmer’s kung fu”…. All for good reasons….

Leave a Reply

