Drea-ea-ea-ea-eam, dream, dream, dream.

April 22, 2010

So, my boss might be right after all; believe and start thinking certain thoughts, you are really sending energies out into the universe which magnetize events and circumstances that reaffirm your conviction….errrh in this case, a Nat Geo documentary.

I was at a friend’s yesterday and the TV was showing a Nat Geo program about “fusion” foods that are now very hip in Hong Kong. Towards the end of the documentary, the filming crew visited a traditional soy sauce factory where everything is still done in the old-fashioned way; no mechanization of any sort and even the jars used are hundreds year old and are you ready for this – the jars are never washed ………… according to the soy source folks, this is one of the factors that gives their sauce that unique highly sought-after signature taste.

I actually heard about this when I was in Penang, special iron-ore jars that are used repeatedly without any washing and some jars are 200 – 300 years old. Hey, I even approached the proprietor hoping to buy one of the jars – they will look fantastic in a “Bali” style garden – I was a landscaper in my previous “life” remember? Well, I got turned down flat … what can I say?

Some things you simply cannot buy and for the rest, you got “MasterCard” hahahaha…..whatever …..

I am devoted to many traditional ways – I think our “contemporary” lifestyles have abundantly proved that not all “new”  methods are enhancing in any ways – hey when you need 5kg to produce 1 kg of “modern” food – something is just not right, not the math nor the methodology….

I am a huge fan of the British “River Cottage” series with Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall – I might just start my own “River Cottage” here except that I’ll have a kung fu school and a restaurant serving home grown vegetable and produce that are free from ….you know all that chemicals laden fertilizers and feeds – everything reverted to time-honored modes.

Now, that’ll be the day……

Okay before I continue “daydreaming” here is another clip found on a mainland site – don’t know much about the details except that many of the qinna techniques bring to mind a book in my collection – published before WW2, this is a “Bak Siulam” 2 men routine that was incorporated into JinWu training syllabus.

Don’t know if it is still practiced these days in JinWu but I remember watching performance of this when I was just but a kid in Singapore in the 60s …..

Hmmmm daydreaming – maybe that would send out some “energies” to attract some positive circumstances to attain my “River Cottage”……. Hahahahaha……..

Leave a Reply

