Pearly sound bites.

January 24, 2010

Here is an extract from a Malaysian Tourism site :-

Penang, often referred to as the Pearl of the Orient, is one of the most picturesque and romantic cities in all of Asia. This tropical island-city lies in the Indian Ocean, just off the north-west coast of Peninsular Malaysia.

Penang received its name from the Pinang, or Betel Nut tree, once commonly found on the island.

Established as the first British trading post in the Far East in 1776, Penang today is a bustling metropolis reflecting a unique, exotic blend of East and West.

On Penang Island sits the capital, Georgetown, a city steeped in history and tradition, yet sparkling with progress and modern development.

The island also boasts some of the best food in the region, ranging from Nyonya Cuisine to foodstall favourites like nasi kandar, char kway teow and penang laksa, all of which are cooked in a uniquely ‘Penang’ way.

You know, I have been in and out of Penang so many times that I have lost count.

And I thought I have seen and tasted enough but this is no where near true, every time I visit, I would spot something that I missed before … from foods, old buildings with quaint façade to martial arts … what can I say???

The more I know, the more I realize how much I don’t …. And Penang is one place that you really need to savor patiently.

So, any misgiving why my boss want to invest there?

This trip is to scout for a good venues for our plans and you know how it is always location, location and location.

Plus, I met up with 2 crucial persons who are going to be instrumental in moving our projects forward so this trip is really all work and almost no “play” hahahaha….

Still I found time to move around a little to shoot  more pics and before I left, a short Carlsberg session with Saolim Sifu we all call “Ah boy” shown in the pic below sledge hammering a stone slab on his student’s head.

I will upload more pics later …….

Leave a Reply

