Wayne “iron crotch” Hinton.

November 21, 2009

Something that I don’t do enough, talk about my disciples in the US…..

Could be because I don’t want to leave the wrong idea that I am aggrandizing but lately with Chas coming out here and spending all those time talking….makes me appreciate how much I really missed those days in Colorado and more importantly the people who helped in so many ways during those start-up days.

I will always be grateful….

When I first started teaching, I had the grand total of 3 students.

Besides Chas and the late Roosevelt, Wayne Hinton played a major part in helping me settle down in Denver. From getting me a really cozy apartment in a nice part of town, although we did hear some gunshots one night hahahaha…, to making sure my plumbing worked right, Wayne is always there.

A hardworking man, Wayne is your classic “honest work for honest wages” kind of guy.

His martial arts training began with TKD and then Lun Gar “5 Animals” so when he met me; he already knew a move or 2.

I remember having to kick him in his crotch a couple of times, well more than a couple of times really that he got the nickname “iron-crotch Wayne”, to get him to stay still and learn what I got to teach …..After that he would train only with a cup …….hahahaha……

Well, he learned all right. From Lohan, Tai Chor to the Cranes, he took in everything I threw at him….although I kinda wish he was around more when I was teaching the Cranes.

Then again, there is a time for everything and some things just cannot be rushed. Like me, I had to learn the Cranes the hard way … without being “hard”.

The last time that I was back in Denver, I was putting up in his house for about 10 days.

What do I remember  most about that 10 days?

The cold beers on a chilly night in his backyard with his dog and cat running about……. a white guy and Chinese talking the night away……..

And hey if you don’t get it….I guess you never will.

Peace bro……

Wayne doing a Lohan technique.

 

” Short Limb Hand” from Fuzhou Ancestral Crane.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

