I need a break ………. or a KitKat…..

October 14, 2009

Phew, I really got to learn to space out my work load … with my plate full at the moment; I am finding it hard to keep up with my regular rhythm.

Since I came back from Sibu, we must have sat down and interviewed about 10 peoples about their family histories some stretching back over 100 years. Then there are all those old family photos to sieve thru, articles to be written and translated taking extreme care to check we got everything down right.

Family’s histories, not something you want to goof with ……. If you know the Chinese, you would know that “ancestry” is everything!!!

Dialect groups, ancestral homes, family names and even social status back then are details that most Chinese around here take great efforts in safeguarding. To fail in this is to “disgrace” your ancestors!

So anyway, back about 2 yrs ago when I first started frequenting Chinese forums, I was downloading videos and whatever other TCMA materials that folks on the mainland, Hong Kong and Taiwan were putting online; I found many of my youtube clips re-uploaded to mainland sites for discussions too….2 ways street…….

Lately you are starting to see many mainland clips appearing on youtube, which is good for those of you who are not conversant with Mandarin; many mainland video sites are really tricky to navigate even if you read Mandarin.

Apart from all the modern Wushu stuff, you’ll find some interesting TCMA clips, if you care to look.

Here’s one – a Choy Li Fut form from Canton which I was told is a recent composition to be used in competitions.

Well, recent or not, I still like what I see – strong horses and practical fists – to use an old CKF description.

Leave a Reply

