Wong Gar Kuen.

October 6, 2009

Tsk tsk tsk, this is no good, definitely no good…..

I was having dinner with the editor-in-chief of a local newspaper last evening in a place serving mainly western food.

So we had salad, pasta, mussels and sausages – pretty hefty meal really.

But it was one of those dinner meetings so …..

This morning I woke up with a gargantuan tummy ache and the next thing you know, diarrhea time …. Not a pretty sight ….

And Chas got to call and start making fun of eating durians and maggots etc etc …. Well, Chas, it was probably the “imported” mussels that did me in….. After some pills and antibiotics, I was like drifting in and out of clarity … you know … everybody must get stoned!

So if I make any typo errors in today’s entry, I got mitigating reasons…..

How many of you have heard of “Huang Jia Quan” or “Wong Gar Kuen” meaning Wong’s family Boxing?

Got a kid here doing this and really the only Wong I’ve heard is “Wong San Kuen” or “Mt. Wong Fists” – a style that the late GM Lee Kuan of Zhou Jia was recorded to have been trained in.

I was told that some of the Wong San techniques found its way into the Zhou Jia or Chow Gar that Malaysia and Singapore lineages do.

So with my tummy starting to feel kind of weird again, I better stop here and just let you view the Wong Gar Kuen that I uploaded onto youtube…..

Leave a Reply

