Deadly Cha Cha.

June 28, 2009

“The characteristics of the Cha-style Chuan lie in the fact that its movements are graceful, comfortable, clear, continuous and rhythmic. The generation of strengths and forces are abrupt, and the use of energy is economical. This style of Chuan stresses the usage of both hands and feet at the same time in executing the movements. Various tricks and moves are combined and linked to facilitate continuous attacks” (read all here)

My first encounter with Cha Quan was at a performance in Singapore in the 70s.

There I was totally captivated by the show, the graceful and rhythmic movements – wow!

Every now and then, they would blast with that rapid burst of power that only a seasoned Northern stylist know how … word just fails me here.

Some years later, I actually got acquainted with a group of folks who, among other systems, are accomplished Cha Quan exponents.

Hahahaha, the thing that I remember most about playing with them is “Why can’t they stay still and fight? Why are they moving in and out and around me so much! Stay still already!!!”

See I was young and didn’t understand that they were “running circles around me” …. Hahahaha

A few weeks back, I was talking to Russ on skype and told him that I might be sending him an encyclopedia of Cha, Hua, Pao and Chang Quan and he commented “Nah I won’t want to have anything to do systems that help started modern Wushu”…..

Tsk tsk tsk Russ Russ, what can I say???

But he is  right and not alone with this opinion.

Cha Quan is one of the Northern styles involved in the birth of modern Wushu.

And it attracted some pretty bad press since.

Me? I just love the arts.

Label is label is label ….. hmmm, maybe I could write a song using this line.

Ain’t singin’ for pepsi
Ain’t singin’ for coke
I don’t sing for nobody
Makes me look like a joke
This note’s for you.

….. Mr. Young.

cha cmplete_Page_505

cha cmplete_Page_324

Leave a Reply

