And go round and round in a circle game.

May 29, 2009

My first encounter with Pak Kua must have been what, some 40 yrs ago in Singapore Chin Woo. 

There I was, around 10, attending a Chin Woo anniversary dinner with my dad and uncles and like all such dinners, a TCMA performance was staged. 

Sat through a good hour’s performance of lion dancing, acrobatics, Chin Woo Northern Kung fu and towards the end of the show, a Sifu got on stage and started circling. 

I was intrigued, to say the least, and started asking my dad and uncles relentlessly about it. 

At that time, I already did a small amount of White Crane with them and then seeing Pak Kua, for the first time, with their inimitable circling; spinning and twirling really got me perplexed.

Is this a fighting system, why are they going round and round and why don’t I see punching …. hey I was 10 yrs old and this was in the no internet  60s all right? 

Over the years, I bought every book and magazine that I could find and got acquainted with some Pak Kua exponents and thru them I started to appreciate a little of the principles behind this system. 

You know that idiom “Familiarity breeds contempt”…..

Not in this case, no where close……..

pak kua qinna_Page_002pak kua qinna_Page_041pak kua qinna_Page_042

Leave a Reply

