Sssssss…its a monster snake!!!

February 21, 2009

 

I moved from Singapore to Sarawak for a couple of reasons; largely it was a “business” move. Came at a time things were slowing down in Singapore and friends invited me into a joint venture here – a move that got me stuck for the last 6 years.

 

The other reason is all the tales I’ve heard about Sarawak from elders and friends; story about traditional kung fu preserved whole after leaving the mainland shores and how so little the rest of the world know of this. I needed to get out of my books and magazine I collected about TCKF and go see for myself, to put it in a nutshell.

 

Then there are the local myths and superstitions, the “head hunting” tribes and their “special powers”, dense virgin rainforests that still hide many secrets etc etc etc…

 

One in particular got me hooked; some local friends in the timber industry told me about a giant snake that some old timers used to bump into whilst clearing some jungles. This snake, according to them, towers over a man when standing up like a cobra and the girth is as thick as a 16-wheelers tyre.

 

WHAT? Is this a snake or a “dragon” and here the story gets better, this “snake” is “albino” and carried a floral mark on the forehead!

 

This “thing” is some form of a protector according to legend and when you see it, you are to leave that jungle alone.

 

I actually wanted to take a trip out into the jungle with my friends to go find this snake except that my business partners didn’t think much of my “Indiana Jones” expedition and gun it down!

 

About a week ago, some colleagues in the office were talking about a giant “snake” spotted in the Rejang River by some folks in a heli and pictures were taken and this got me so keyed up!

 

Pictures, finally, evidence of a monster snake!!!

 

A friend found a pic on another blog and here you go:-

nabau

 

Legend has it that in the ancient times, there was a large serpent called Nabau. One day, the mythical serpent turned into a human being, trying to seduce a warrior’s wife. The warrior caught and sliced the serpent into seven pieces and threw them into the river. The flesh later settled to form seven rocks where the seven rapids are now situated, along the great Rejang River.


Leave a Reply

