Ahem ! CNY comes a little early ……

January 20, 2009

dscn7485

You know us Chinese, customary to give out gifts when Chinese New Year is approaching. Hampers, with liqueurs, fruits, cookies and others are very common in my part of the world.

Then you have the “red money packets” or “ang pows” that is a must … no CNY is complete otherwise.

The other day, I passed a piece of turquoise to a friend who’s learning to make jewelry to help frame it, expecting only to see a simple mounting pendant frame.

But much to my delight, I got the frame and a little hand-crafted Crane inserted……

What more could I ask for ?

So it might be the year of the golden ox to you, but it’s the year of the “crane” to me.

Leave a Reply

