Birds of the same feather….

November 4, 2008

Finally, I got my student Chas Fisher and his student, Peter Morson here in Kuching with me.

The entire month of November will see visits by students from different parts of the US.

Besides doing the tourist thing; visiting some of the places that Anthony Bourdain did when he was in town, I am taking my students with me to make courtesy call with some of the masters around here – to pay respect so to speak.

Starting with my Whooping Crane mentor, Sifu Leong Ti Lien, the visit quickly turned into a touch hand session – any less would be a downer as far as I am concerned.

And watching/shooting them at work, I am thinking that this is what traditional Chinese Kung Fu should be all about – meeting friends through the arts.

In this case, it’s more like a family reunion of sort.

Cranes from all over congregating and resonating….in a way that transcends words.

The next few days will be crammed with sessions like this…

The same evening, we all had dinner  with my boss/partner Tina, Simon and the CEO of Sarawak Tourism Board, Gracie Geki at a local restaurant/pub.

So with bull frogs croaking in the back, wine on the table and the “Eagles” from the speakers, we ended the day bantering about American politics.

In the words of my fellow cobbler, Russ Smith, this is all good.

And its going to get better 🙂


Leave a Reply

