I’m back :)

October 12, 2008

Whew…. back from another 2 weeks of meeting, playing and eating…. yeah yeah, I know it’s a dog’s life but somebody got to do it, right?

Okay, first I want to thank my 2 fellow shoemakers for holding the fort and then, I got to quickly go out and get myself a dictionary – Mark’s english is so “English”, you know what I mean?

For now, outline of events that transpired in Singapore and Penang (I am keeping to MA related topics) :-

  • Recorded a TCMA performance held in Hong Lim Park in Chinatown area, Singapore. Frankly, I had no clue about this show until Ian Leong wrote to me about this. Not knowing what to expect, I just showed up and boy, what a pleasant surprise; Ah Teck (TaiZu), Sifu Ku Choy Wah, Zhou Jia, Saolim, Hungga, Sifu Liao Shong Fen/Hakka Boxing and a string of other TCMAs presented a 3 hrs show to a audience of about 500 – 1000. And all this in a downtown park too – what can I say?

  • Spoke comprehensively to both Ah Teck and Sifu Ku Choy Wah regarding publishing books and I am really glad to say that the response is really affirmative….finally. So Mark/Russ, roll up your sleeves, we got “work” cut out in front of us – cancel all vacation plans and be prepared to come here!

  • Visited one of my White Crane Sifus, Li Wen Shi together with my sihing. At 93, Sifu Li is still able to describe most of his training experience in Fuzhou White Crane. Listening to him is like taking a stroll through history during a highly capricious time when CKF masters were fleeing the mainland. His journey, alone, is sufficient to fill up an entire book about Fuzhou Whooping Crane both the MingChiang and Putien lines; personally, if you want to examine Whooping Crane, I say talk to this Master – even China wanted him back to restore Whooping Crane! So guys, more work……

  • It’s beginning to look like we will be kicking Muay Thai off soon (pardon the pun). Spoke to the relevant people and took a tour of a MT school run by a Thai coach, Bia.

I will be putting up pics and clips etc over the next few days.

Penang was equally hectic; starting with Por Suk’s 63th birthday dinner. For those of you, who are thinking that this is a “formal” occasion, wait for the clips.

Instead of staying in a hotel, I decided to lodge at Por Suk hillside temple and for 3 solid days, we were going over plans of publishing his “Cho Gar Hay Bun Wing Chun”.

And it was also during these 3 days that I got a really close up view of his Wing Chun including his distinctive wooden dummy and sandbag drills – 3 days ain’t enough folks!!!

The purpose of the Penang leg of the trip is to talk to the right folks about next year’s event in Penang and I will expand on this in a later entry.

Before I left, I revisited GM Cheong Cheng Loong and mooted the idea of forming a “TCMA Research Fellowship” involving masters from the various families.

This concept received warm reception from GM Cheong and in fact, from almost all the masters I spoke to.

So fellow cobblers, yeah, you got it – more work 🙂

I got some pics here for you first – I shot Por Suk’s “13 Arrow Palms”, one of the essential forms in his line of WCK in preparation for the book that we’re working on.

Enjoy…..

Leave a Reply

