Don’t criticize what you can’t understand….

August 23, 2008

Another thing that I get asked quite a bit is – why did I disable comments, ratings and responses in all my youtube clips?

You know, I got no issues with folks slamming me in action; I am, after all, just a beginner trying to get better.

But when I persuade an elder or master to perform for my camera and agreeable to have footages uploaded to youtube for public viewing, I don’t need folks with no clue to start posting off-putting remarks.

Hey, to me is just like music; you like your rap, techno or whatever but I’ll stick to my music from the 30s and 40s.

And that don’t give me the privilege to run your genre down.

Oftentimes, some of the masters are doing stuff that are new and alien even to me and gotta tell you, I have seen a fair bit in my time growing up in SE Asia…

Which wise old man said this with a guitar?

 

“Don’t criticize what you can’t understand”!

That said, got another clip uploaded – with everything disabled again …………..

 

2 Responses to “Don’t criticize what you can’t understand….”

  1. markvwiley Says:

    I wholeheartedly agree! So many critics, and not many truly learned or skilled practitioners. Thank you for posting all of these gems for us to learn from.

  2. eric88ling Says:

    Hey Mark,

    I was listening to Suzanne Vega’s “Small blue thing” as I was working on the blogs and you know what?

    We are really a small drop in this big ocean of knowledge; 3 thousands year of accumulated experience and for anyone to think they’ve seen it all is, egoistical…….

    Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

